Changing the text content on a region

Questions, comments and suggestions concerning VintaSoft PDF .NET Plug-in.

Moderator: Alex

Post Reply
kwaltman
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 9:48 pm

Changing the text content on a region

Post by kwaltman » Tue Jan 20, 2015 9:04 pm

I have a customer that has a requirement to be able to skim PDF documents looking for various "secure" words and when I find them remove those words from the PDF. This would be used to remove account numbers and other information they want redacted from the PDF for security reasons. Looking through the documentation I cannot see a way to edit the text within a specific text region. These words may appear in the middle of a sentence, so I need to remove the word, and replace with a REDACTED marker, and leave the rest of the sentence alone.

Also along those same lines, is there a way to add new text regions on a page? I have added next to the document using the Graphic object, but I really need a way to add text to a document as actual search and selectable text.

Best Regards,

Kevin

kwaltman
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 9:48 pm

Re: Changing the text content on a region

Post by kwaltman » Tue Jan 20, 2015 10:07 pm

If the text region cannot be edited. Is there a way to remove a text region from the page? I am curious how the Acrobat Redact function works in that regards. I can draw over the region with the graphic object after finding the word, but the word is still searchable/sectable in the document. I supposed I need to know how to either remove that text region or flatten over that specific region to prevent the text from being searchable/selectable.

Alex
Site Admin
Posts: 1460
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 2:21 pm

Re: Changing the text content on a region

Post by Alex » Thu Jan 22, 2015 11:01 am

Hello Kevin,

Thank you for information about your requirements.

Current version of SDK allows to add new content (text and images) to PDF page, editing of existing content is not supported.

We will add ability to edit (redact) a PDF page content in version 8.3. More info please read here: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=2163&p=4514

Best regards, Alexander

kwaltman
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 9:48 pm

Re: Changing the text content on a region

Post by kwaltman » Fri Jan 23, 2015 12:00 am

Alex,

Thank you for the information. I look forward to working with the 8.3 version.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest